Home Instruction Regulations

New York State Education Law allows for the education of children at home, provided that children of compulsory education age receive full-time instruction (900 hours for children in grades 1-6 and 990 hours for children in grades 7-12), are taught by competent teachers, and receive instruction that is substantially equivalent to that provided within the public school. However, the law does not require any specific credentials for the person providing instruction. In addition, students can fulfill the requirement through enrollment at a college, provided that the student is enrolled in at least 12 credit hours per semester.


Sections 3204©, 3210(2)(d), and 3212(2) of the Education Law, and section 100.10 of the commissioner’s regulations, set forth the requirements that must be met by parents who wish to educate their children at home. Parents are required to:

  • Notify the Superintendent of Schools in writing each year by July 1 of their intention to educate their child/ren at home. For transfer students, or parents who elected to home school their children after the start of the school year, notification must occur within 14 days of commencing home instruction.
  • Develop an individualized home instruction plan (IHIP) for each child to be filed with the district no later than August 15. The plan must contain a syllabi, curriculum materials, textbooks, plan of instruction to be used and the names of the instructors.
  • Submit quarterly progress reports.

The following forms are attached below for your convenience:

  • Home Instruction Application
  • Individualized Home Instruction Plan (IHIP)
  • Quarterly Progress Report

You may also refer to the New York State Department of Education website for more information.

Application to Home School(PDF - 26 KB)

Home School Instruction Plan(PDF - 18 KB)

Home School Quarterly Report Form(PDF - 60 KB)


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.