Graduation Requirements

All students must earn 22 units of credit to earn a High School Diploma, Regents Diploma, or a Regents Diploma with Advanced Designation.

The following credits are required for all diploma types:

4 units of English
4 units of Social Studies
3 units of Mathematics
3 units of Science
2 units of Physical Education
1 unit of Art/Music
½ unit of Health
1 unit of Foreign Language (3 units minimum if pursuing a Advanced Regents diploma, or CTE sequence of 5+ credits)
½ unit of Financial Literacy

Diploma types are determined by passing required Regents exams. All students must pass the following exams*:

Comprehensive English
Global History
U.S. History

Students that would like to earn a Regents Diploma with Advanced Designation must also pass the following exams in addition to the required Regents exams listed above:

Algebra II/Trigonometry
Foreign Language (this may be waived for students earning a Career and Technical Education (CTE) sequence of 5+ credits)

*Students with disabilities may qualify for the "safety net," meaning that if they will receive credit for Regents exams if they score between a 55-64%. Students qualifying for the safety net may also be eligible to take a corresponding Regents Competency Test (RCT) if they score below a 55% on the required Regents exam.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.